April30 2019 (Tue)
7:00 PM

The Zemlinsky Quartet

E. Schulhoff and A. Dvořák

Maisel Synagogue | Classical Music

120 minutes | Not available

Event is no longer available.

This event has already taken place. However, there´re many other events in our offer to choose from. Please use links below or our easy event search form to continue.

Where to go?

Show image detail
Date: April 30, 2019 | 19:00 (Tue)
Venue: Maisel Synagogue
Duration: 120 minutes
Status: Not available
Group discount 10+ people Ticket in your mobile device accepted

Works of E. Schulhoff and A. Dvořák performed by the Czech prominent quartet

A concert by the leading Czech quartet (František Souček and Petr Střížek – violin, Petr Holman – viola, Vladimír Fortin – cello) and their guests, Jiří Pinkas and Dominika Weiss Hošková, on the occasion of Yom Ha-Shoah. Featuring sextets by Ervín Schulhoff (1894–1942) and Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904). 


  • Ervín Schulhoff (1894-1942): Sextet for Two Violins, Two Violas and Two Cellos, Op. 45

    Allegro risoluto
    Tranquillo: Andante
    Burlesca: Allegro molto con spirito
    Molto adagio

  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904): String Sextet in A Major, Op. 48
    Allegro moderato
    Dumka. Poco allegretto
    Furiant. Presto
    Finale. Tema con variazioni. Allegretto grazioso, quasi andantin

The Zemlinsky Quartet:

František Souček / violin
Petr Střížek / violin
Petr Holman / viola
Vladimír Fortin / cello

The Zemlinsky Quartet was founded in 1994. It is named after the Austrian composer Alexander von Zemlinsky (1871–1942), who greatly contributed to Czech, German and Jewish culture during his 16-year residence in Prague. The quartet performs regularly in the Czech Republic (i.e.the Prague Spring Festival) and abroad (including London, Paris, Washington and Seoul). It won the First Grand Prize at the Bordeaux International String Quartet Competition in 2010. In addition to works by Zemlinsky, the quartet’s vast repertoire contains pieces by Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904), Josef Suk (1874–1935), Viktor Kalabis (1923–2006), Franz Schubert (1797–1828) and Felix Mendelssohn (1809–1847).


Jiří Pinkas / viola
Dominika Weiss Hošková / cello

Please note: 

  • No intermission
  • Dress code: casual 

We offer wide choice of chamber & orchestral classical music concerts in Prague.