October12 2022 (Wed)
7:30 PM

Subscription concert of Czech National Symphony Orchestra

B. Martinů, M. P. Musorgskij

Municipal House - Smetana Hall | Classical Music

90 minutes | Sold out

Show image detail
Date: October 12, 2022 | 19:30 (Wed)
Venue: Municipal House - Smetana Hall
Duration: 90 minutes
Status: Sold out
Group discount 10+ people
Ticket in your mobile device accepted

Smetana Hall welcomes the Czech National Orchestra delivering Martinů and Musorgskij

In his prime time, the renowned Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů ranked among the most highly sought-after composers. His musical writing was highly versatile, and we can observe a number of stages of development before he arrived at his own distinctive style and signature. This style perhaps most closely aligned with that of the so-called ‘neoclassicist’ generation. Over the course of his working life he amassed an impressive total of 300 opuses, which included the less well-known orchestral work Overture for Orchestra H. 345.

It was written as a concerto overture, which allowed Martinů to apply his popular baroque technique, the concerto grosso: comprising a concertino of seven soloist players and orchestra. In contrast to this, his Concerto in D major for two violins and orchestra H. 329, is a classical three-movement composition in symphonic style, where Martinů placed the violin in the lead role and built in a distinctive and enthralling dialogue with the orchestra.
Listeners now have the chance to enjoy both of these works as part of our new subscription series. The solo parts will be performed by prof. Bohuslav Matoušek and his former student at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague and winner of countless international competitions, Jakub Junek.

The second half of the concert will be given over to the acclaimed Pictures at an Exhibition by Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky. This exceptional programme suite, part of which features musical miniatures, is inspired by the paintings of Viktor Hartmann, a friend of Mussorgsky who died prematurely.


  • Bohuslav Martinů – Overture for Orchestra
  • Bohuslav Martinů – Concerto for Two Violins and Orchestra
  • Modest Petrovič Musorgskij – Pictures at an Exhibition


Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Marcello Rota - conductor
Bohuslav Matoušek, Jakub Junek - violin


Other concerts of Czech National Symphony Orchestra and Prague Proms Festival

Similar events