September03 2019 (Tue)
7:30 PM

Singapore Chinese Orchestra

Musica Orbis 2019

Rudolfinum - Dvořák Hall | Classical Music

90 minutes | Not available

Event is no longer available.

This event has already taken place. However, there´re many other events in our offer to choose from. Please use links below or our easy event search form to continue.

Where to go?

Show image detail
Date: September 03, 2019 | 19:30 (Tue)
Venue: Rudolfinum - Dvořák Hall
Duration: 90 minutes
Status: Not available
Group discount 10+ people
Ticket in your mobile device accepted

Epic concert of Singapore Chinese Orchestra presenting works based on the Chinese folk tale of The Butterfly Lover

Concert takes in one of the most prominent concert halls in Prague - Dvořák Hall in Rudolfinum. 

The volcanic eruption of Mount Krakatoa, situated off the west coast of Java, Indonesia, in 1883 was one of the deadliest disasters in the 19th century. An aleatoric prologue of woodwind solos in Krakatoa are evoking the memories of the lost, before the appearance of a more cheerful presence representing the daily life of the coastal villagers.

Based on the ancient Chinese folk tale of The Butterfly Lovers, this evergreen classic violin concerto is adapted from tunes of Yue Opera in Zhejiang Province.

The exposition depicts a scene of sunshine and gentle breeze, with the violin entering on a simple and beautiful love theme. The traditional Cantonese lion dance is well known for its sophisticated and technical demanding gestures. Arise, You Lion of Glory draws inspiration from this gorgeous tradition, using musical materials to depict various elements in the lion dance.


  • Krakatoa- Kahchun Wong
  • The Butterfly Lovers’Violin Concerto- Composed by He Zhan Hao, Chen Gang, rearranged by Yan Hui Chang, Ku Lap Man
  • Arise, You Lion of Glory - Gordon Fung Dic-Lun
  • Yellow Earth - Dun 
    I. Raining from the Sky
    II. Gate Crashing the Bridal Chamber
    III. Desiring Intimacy
    IV. Stone-slab Waist Drum 


Tsung Yeh


Singapore Chinese Orchestra (SCO) inaugurated in 1997, is Singapore's only professional national Chinese orchestra. The orchestra, made up of more than 80 musicians, occupies the Singapore Conference Hall, which is a national monument.


Kam Ning - violin
Yu Jia - pipa              

About Musica Orbis:

an annual concert series that presents talented musicians from various countries of the world. The concerts take place in esteemed Prague concert halls, and they are characterised by fresh energy, a joy of music, charismatic conductors, and superb soloists. In 2019 Musica Orbis will enter its seventh year.

Please note:

  • One 15 min. intermission
  • Recommended dress code: smart casual

Travelling to Prague? Check our sightseeing list! 

Similar events