March22 2023 (Wed)
7:30 PM

Richard Wagner: Prelude and Liebestod from the opera Tristan und Isolde

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Municipal House - Smetana Hall | Classical Music

110 minutes | Not available

Event is no longer available.

This event has already taken place. However, there´re many other events in our offer to choose from. Please use links below or our easy event search form to continue.

Where to go?

Show image detail
Date: March 22, 2023 | 19:30 (Wed)
Venue: Municipal House - Smetana Hall
Duration: 110 minutes
Status: Not available
Group discount 10+ people
Ticket in your mobile device accepted

Grammy awarded Czech National Symphony Orchestra delivers R. Wagner and R. Strauss

Tristan and Isolde (Tristan und Isolde) is an opera in three acts, but also an all-encompassing artistic masterpiece by Richard Wagner. It was written on the theme of a German libretto by the composer himself. Thanks to its original and unexpected harmonic connections and instrumentation, Tristan and Isolde is often hailed as a crucial work in the development of Western music. Wagner adopts harmonic delays throughout the opera and its tonality had a huge impact on Western classical music, influencing a great many other composers including Gustav Mahler and Richard Strauss. Its use of orchestral colour would later also exert an influence on film music. 

Richard Strauss first picked up the conductor's baton at the Berlin Court Opera on 5th November 1898, and decided on a performance of Richard Wagner's Tristan und Isolde. Strauss, however was not merely a conductor but also, as is well documented, a phenomenal composer, who garnered recognition in particular for his symphonic poems and operas. He received his basic musical training from his father and wrote his first piece at six years of age. From this time until his death he composed almost continuously. Among his best-known compositions are the symphonic poems Don Juan and Thus Spoke Zarathustra written in his most prolific years. And it is with these pieces that the Czech National Symphony Orchestra will open the new season of its subscription series.


  • Richard Wagner:
    Prelude and Liebestod from the opera Tristan und Isolde
  • Richard Strauss:
    Don Juan Op. 20, Symphonic Poem
  • Richard Strauss
    Also sprach Zarathustra Op. 30


Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Steven Mercurio - conductor


Concerts in the Smetana Hall - Municipal House