December26 2019 (Thu)
6:00 PM

Czech Philharmonic Chamber Ensembles

Rudolphin Ensemble Prague

Rudolfinum - Suk Hall | Classical Music

60 minutes | Not available

Event is no longer available.

This event has already taken place. However, there´re many other events in our offer to choose from. Please use links below or our easy event search form to continue.

Where to go?

Show image detail
Date: December 26, 2019 | 18:00 (Thu)
Venue: Rudolfinum - Suk Hall
Duration: 60 minutes
Status: Not available
Reviews: (1)

Members of the Czech Philharmonic perform Baroque music in the Suk Hall

The ensemble members, who are active in the Czech Philharmonic and other orchestras, play on modern instruments, but they aim for stylistically authentic renditions of Baroque music conforming to period performance practice. The ensemble collaborates regularly with Czech Radio and Czech Television.

The oboist and conductor Vojtěch Jouza founded the Prague Baroque Ensemble in 1982. Its focus is on music for various combinations of instruments by composers of the late Baroque era.

The ensemble gives performances in the concert series of the Czech Philharmonic, the Prague Symphony Orchestra Concert Agency, and the Czech Chamber Music Society. The Prague Baroque Ensemble also makes appearances abroad, including its traditional pre-Christmas tour of Japan, which climaxes regularly with an advent concert at the cathedral in Tokyo.


  • Alessandro Marcello (1686–1739):
    Concerto in D Minor for oboe, strings and continuo, S D 935
    Andante e spiccato
  • Johann Pachelbel (1653–1706):
    Canon in D Major, P. 37
  • Henry Purcell (1659–1695):
    Rondeau from the incidental music to Abdelazer
  • Georg Friedrich Händel (1685–1759):
    “Lascia ch’io pianga” from Rinaldo, HWV 7 – arr. for strings and basso continuo
    Concerto Grosso in G Major, Op. 3, No. 3, HWV 314

    Largo from the opera Xerxes, HWV 40
    Sarabande in D Minor for strings and basso continuo, HWV 437
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750):
    Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068
  • Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741):
    Concerto in F Major for oboe, strings and continuo, RV 455
    Allegro giusto
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750):
    “Jesus bleibet meine Freude” from the cantata Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV147 – arr. for oboe, strings and basso continuo

Prague Baroque Ensemble:

Vojtech Jouza - oboe, artistic director
Anna Sommerová, Xenie Dohnalová - violin
Jiří Poslední - viola
Jan Keller - cello
Edita Keglerová - cembalo


  • No intermission
  • Dress code: casual / smart casual 

Classical concerts in Prague are highly rated and very popular!