July23 2017 (Sun)
6:00 PM

Czech Philharmonic Chamber Ensembles

Rudolphin Ensemble Prague

Rudolfinum - Suk Hall | Classical Music

60 minutes | Not available

Event is no longer available.

This event has already taken place. However, there´re many other events in our offer to choose from. Please use links below or our easy event search form to continue.

Where to go?

Show image detail
Date: July 23, 2017 | 18:00 (Sun)
Venue: Rudolfinum - Suk Hall
Duration: 60 minutes
Status: Not available
Reviews: (1)
Group discount 10+ people

This summer, members of the Czech Philharmonic perform Baroque music. 

The oboist and conductor Vojtech Jouza founded the Prague Baroque Ensemble in 1982. Its focus is on music for various combinations of instruments by composers of the late Baroque era. The ensemble members, who are active in the Czech Philharmonic and other orchestras, play on modern instruments, but they aim for stylistically authentic renditions of Baroque music conforming to period performance practice. The ensemble collaborates regularly with Czech Radio and Czech Television. It gives performances in the concert series of the Czech Philharmonic, the Prague Symphony Orchestra Concert Agency, and the Czech Chamber Music Society. The Prague Baroque Ensemble also makes appearances abroad, including its traditional pre-Christmas tour of Japan, which climaxes regularly with an Advent concert at the cathedral in Tokyo.


Alessandro Marcello (1686–1739):
Concerto in D Minor for oboe, strings and continuo, S D 935
Andante e spiccato

Johann Pachelbel (1653–1706):
Canon in D Major, P. 37
Henry Purcell (1659–1695):
Rondeau from the incidental music to Abdelazer
Georg Friedrich Händel (1685–1759):
“Lascia ch’io pianga” from Rinaldo, HWV 7 – arr. for strings and basso continuo
Concerto Grosso in G Major, Op. 3, No. 3, HWV 314

Largo from the opera Xerxes, HWV 40
Sarabande in D Minor for strings and basso continuo, HWV 437
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750):
Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068
Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741):
Concerto in F Major for oboe, strings and continuo, RV 455
Allegro giusto

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750):
“Jesus bleibet meine Freude” from the cantata Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV147 – arr. for oboe, strings and basso continuo

Prague Baroque Ensemble:

Vojtech Jouza oboe, artistic director
Viktor Mazacek violin
Jitka Koksova violin
Anna Sommerova violin, viola
Helena Velicka cello
Edita Keglerova cembalo

Please note: 

The concert has no intermission. 

Classical concerts in Prague are highly rated and very popular!

Similar events