January01 2023 (Sun)
3:00 PM

New Year’s Afternoon Concert of the Czech Philharmonic

Czech Philharmonic & Juanjo Mena

Rudolfinum - Dvořák Hall | Classical Music

90 minutes | Available

Show image detail
Date: January 01, 2023 | 15:00 (Sun)
Venue: Rudolfinum - Dvořák Hall
Duration: 90 minutes
Status: Available
Buy ticket
Ticket in your mobile device accepted

New Year´s afternoon concert in Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum. Great music with the best Czech Philharmonic!

“This cold New Year’s Eve I invite you to accompany me on a journey to Spain,” says the Spanish conductor Juanjo Mena. “Joining us on this journey are two exceptional soloists: we welcome the global ambassador of Spanish guitar Pablo Sáinz Villegas and the versatile mezzo-soprano Clara Mouriz.”

Pablo Sáinz Villegas will play Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez, possibly the most famous guitar concerto and one of the most original masterpieces of the twentieth century, thanks to the extraordinary beauty of its central Adagio. Clara Mouriz will add a touch of authenticity to the music from Manuela de Falla ballet The Three Cornered Hat, with its sensuous orchestration and unmistakeable Spanish dance rhythms. The pace slows down somewhat for a selection of Montsalvatge’s sumptuous Canciones Negras, for which Clara Mouriz’s voice is so perfectly suited. “Instead of New Years’ fireworks, you will be dazzled by the earthy energy of Turina’s Danzas Fantásticas. I look forward to celebrating the New Year at the Rudolfinum with you and with the wonderful Czech Philharmonic!” adds Juanjo Mena.


  • Manuel de Falla
    Interlude and Dance from the opera
    La vida breve
  • Manuel de Falla
    “Vivan los que rien, mueran los que lloran”, Salud’s aria from the opera La vida breve
  • Joaquín Rodrigo
    Concierto de Aranjuez for guitar and orchestra
  • Joaquín Turina
    Danzas fantásticas for orchestra, Op. 22
  • Xavier Montsalvatge
    Cinco canciones negras (selections)
  • Manuel de Falla
    The Three-Cornered Hat, music from the ballet


Czech Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena
 - conductor


Pablo-Sáinz Villegas - guitar
Clara Mouriz - mezzo-soprano


The concert season of the Czech Philharmonic

Similar events