April12 2023 (Wed)
7:30 PM

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 "Eroica" Op. 55

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Municipal House - Smetana Hall | Classical Music

112 minutes | Available

Show image detail
Date: April 12, 2023 | 19:30 (Wed)
Venue: Municipal House - Smetana Hall
Duration: 112 minutes
Status: Available
Buy ticket
Group discount 10+ people
Ticket in your mobile device accepted

An evening of early Romantic composers includes the celebrated Eroica by L. van Beethoven

Jan Václav Hugo Voříšek (Johann Hugo Worzischek) hailed from a family of teachers, gaining his musical education initially from his father by sitting with him at the piano aged just three and subsequently learning to play the organ. Voříšek left for Prague at a young age upon being presented with the opportunity to systematically study music practice and theory for the first time. He would play the organ each day at morning church services and eventually went on to teach piano in the Lobkowicz family home. He also taught at the Lobkowicz Palace under Petřín Hill. Anyone keen to understand Voříšek's artistic style must be aware of the significance Ludwig van Beethoven played in his life. Voříšek was eventually introduced to his greatest role modle by professor Zizius, and around 1814 he paid the composer a visit to present him with his work.

This comprised several of his 12 Rhapsodies, Opus 1 for Piano (not published until 1818) which Beethoven subsequently spoke highly of. It’s no coincidence therefore that the program selected showcases work by both composers. In the first half of the concert the audience will hear Grand Rondeau for Violin, Viola, Piano and Orchestra, Opus 25 by Jan Václav Hugo Voříšek followed by Beethoven's heroic Symphony No. 3 written for Napoleon at the end. Solo parts will be performed by the Smetana Trio and orchestral parts by the Czech National Symphony Orchestra.

However, the evening of early Romantic composers will open with a charming suite for oboe and orchestra, L'Horloge de Flore (Flower Clock), written by one of the most frequently performed 20th century French composers, Jean René Désiré Françaix. Oboist Marta Bílá will guide you through the world of flowers together with the orchestra's Music Director Steven Mercurio.


  • Jean René Désiré Françaix
    The Flower Clock, suite for Oboe and Orchestra
  • Johann Hugo Worzischek
    Grand Rondeau for Violin, Cello, Piano and Orchestra Op. 25
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
    Symphony No. 3 "Eroica" Op. 55


Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Steven Mercurio - conductor
Marta Bílá - oboe 

Smetana trio:
Jitka Čechová -  piano
Jan Talich - violin
Jan Páleníček - cello


Explore Prague! 

Similar events