March16 2023 (Thu)
7:30 PM

Czech Philharmonic, Seong-Jin Cho

I. Stravinsky, B. Bartók, T. Escaich

Rudolfinum - Dvořák Hall | Classical Music

120 minutes | Available

Show image detail
Date: March 16, 2023 | 19:30 (Thu)
Venue: Rudolfinum - Dvořák Hall
Duration: 120 minutes
Status: Available
Buy ticket
Ticket in your mobile device accepted

The internationally acclaimed Czech Philharmonic and Seong-Jin Cho in Dvořák Hall, Rudolfinum 

The young Korean pianist Seon Jin-Cho, making his debut with the Czech Philharmonic, will be performing a brand new piano concerto by the French organist and conductor Thierry Escaich. In addition, under the baton of its chief conductor Semyon Bychkov, the orchestra will perform iconic works by Béla Bartók and Igor Stravinsky.

Semyon Bychkov says: “I am convinced that Escaich’s new concerto played by the winner of the Chopin Competition in Warsaw, the Korean pianist Seon Jin Choa, will truly be a musical event. Bartók’s Miraculous Mandarin and Stravinsky’s Petrushka, the first and last works on the programme, were both major events of their own kind at the time of their premieres, which occurred at nearly the same time. Both compositions embody something unparalleled in earlier music, and both caused a bit of a scandal at their premieres. I say ‘a bit’ because any reaction by the pubic and critics seems quite peaceable in comparison with the tsunami unleashed by the premiere of The Rite of Spring. I think the combination of The Miraculous Mandarin and Petrushka will make a revelatory, refreshing impression, and quite a theatrical evening awaits us because both works were originally ballet music.”


  • Béla Bartók
    The Miraculous Mandarin, suite from the ballet-pantomime
  • Thierry Escaich
    Piano Concerto (world premiere)
  • Igor Stravinsky
    Petrushka, ballet suite


Seong-Jin Cho - piano

Semyon Bychkov - conductor
Czech Philharmonic


Prague classical music