September22 2021 (Wed)
8:00 PM

Boris Giltburg - piano Pavel Haas Quartet

Dvořák Prague International Music Festival 2021

Rudolfinum - Dvořák Hall | Classical Music

95 minutes | Available

Show image detail
Date: September 22, 2021 | 20:00 (Wed)
Venue: Rudolfinum - Dvořák Hall
Duration: 95 minutes
Status: Available
Buy ticket

The final concert of the chamber series of the Dvořák Prague Festival in Dvořák Hall of Rudolfinum


  • Dmitry Shostakovich: Piano Quintet in G Minor, Op. 57
  • Antonín Dvořák: Piano Trio No. 4, Op. 90, B. 166, ʻDumkyʻ


  • Boris Giltburg - piano
  • Pavel Haas Quartet

About the artists:

Boris Giltburg

The superb Israeli pianist Boris Giltburg is one of the most sought-after soloists of his generation. His victory at the prestigious Queen Elisabeth Competition in Brussels in 2013 became a springboard that launched a dizzying artistic career. In addition to giving solo recitals at some of the world’s most illustrious venues (including London’s Wigmore Hall and the Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie), Giltburg has been invited to collaborate with such orchestras as the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, and the London Philharmonic Orchestra. Chamber music has benefitted from his longstanding collaboration with the Pavel Haas Quartet. Although his repertoire is quite broad, critics have often referred to him as a specialist in the music of Sergei Rachmaninoff. In celebration of the 250th anniversary of Beethoven's birth in 2020, Giltburg recorded all 32 of the composer’s piano sonatas and all five piano concertos. He devotes himself intensively to popularising classical music – besides writing articles for various publications, he also has his own blog: “Classical music for all”.

Pavel Haas Quartet

After victories at the Prague Spring Competition and the Premio Paolo Borciani in Reggio Emilia, Italy, in 2005 the Pavel Haas Quartet quickly won itself a place among today’s most prominent chamber ensembles. The quartet members studied with Milan Škampa, the legendary violist of the Smetana Quartet. The Pavel Haas Quartet appears at the most important concert halls around the world. In 2007 the European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO) named the Pavel Haas Quartet as one of its “Rising Stars”. This gave the group the unique opportunity to appear in a series of concerts at important concert venues. From 2007 to 2009 they took part in the BBC New Generation Artists programme, and in 2010 they won a special scholarship from the Borletti–Buitoni Trust. The Pavel Haas Quartet records exclusively for Supraphon. They have eight albums to their credit, and all of their CDs have won significant international awards – the Diapason d’Or de l’année, the BBC Music Magazine Award for two albums, and the Gramophone Award on six occasions. The quartet is named for the Czech composer Pavel Haas (1899–1944), whose musical legacy includes three magnificent string quartets.


  • Please check the current conditions for admission to concerts.
  • Dress code: dark suit. No jeans, shorts and trainers allowed.
  • Printed tickets required
  • Please note that the price of the ticket includes service fee of 10%
  • The purchased tickets cannot be returned or exchanged.
  • For the concerts of Dvořák Prague Festival, no discounts are provided.
  • Please leave all items that would obstruct other visitors in the cloakroom. For security reasons, you will not be allowed into concert halls with such items.
  • Travel and other bulky luggage cannot be left in the cloakroom. For security reasons, you will not be allowed into concert buildings with such items.

Similar events