May21 2019 (Tue)
7:30 PM

Where Miloš Forman filmed Amadeus

Royal Czech Orchestra (chamber)

Colloredo-Mansfeld Palace | Classical Music

65 minutes | Not available

Overall rating:

Audrey Morrison | May 16, 2019 | 01:29 (Thu)

Joan Fullard | October 08, 2018 | 21:42 (Mon)

Great event. Had fun.

C j VAN DER MERWE | June 04, 2018 | 21:35 (Mon)

What an inspiring and exciting event! An intimate setting with an ensemble that plays as a well-knitted team. It was inspiring to see how the artists interact and co-ordinate - due to the small venue and there being only a small group of artists and no conductor it was very evident how they worked together to perform in synch. The music was full-sounding and I could not believe that such a small group achieved this. The voice of the soprano was unexpectedly powerful - her appearance belied the vocal energy that was forthcoming. Please note that I also attended another event, which I rated poorly. My good rating for this event is not out of habit - it is truly worth it. To the extent that I would not mind doing it again this same week!

Jacob Dijkstra | May 11, 2018 | 08:37 (Fri)

Carolyn Woulfe | August 19, 2017 | 22:03 (Sat)

I've been to several local concerts, but this is the one I always bring my visitors to. All the musicians are wonderful, but the Lecian brothers are astonishing. The Colloredo-Mansfeld Palace is gorgeous, and unapologetically faded. It feels as if you have slipped into the palace secretly for an evening of magic.

William Norris | August 14, 2017 | 20:06 (Mon)

I have never written a review before but this fantastic concert prods me to rise to the occasion. I have attended many professional and semi-professional concerts in the US and I honestly did not expect much from a tourist concert like this one. WOW – was I wrong!!! This event was the highlight to our weeklong visit to Prague The venue was a little aged. I think it would be a decent place to hold this sort of event if there was just better lighting but a full renovation is really needed. The size of room is intimate. We were fortunate to get seats in the front row, I would recommend getting tickets for the front section. Being only a few feet away from such talent was a once in a lifetime event. The performance becomes personal because they are so close to you – you see the effort, the intensity and the pure, raw talent. I was on the edge of my seat for the duration. The performances were simply exceptional. There were three soloists, all were remarkably talented and all three deserve center stage at big-time events. The mezzo soprano was spectacular. I am not an opera fan but it really brought tears to my eyes…such beauty. The violin and cello soloists I think are brothers and were also just exceptional. These are not glorified street performers – they are definitely the real deal who gave incredibly energetic performances to our small audience. Finally, the backup quintet was very, very good. It was nice hearing the base in these pieces, it provided a nice balanced sound. The program was short (one hour) but very engaging. The only thing I would suggest is to have the violin and cello soloists take a run at Humoresque (in the mode of Perlman and Ma). It would make a great Dvorak/Prague encore. For these guys who grew up with Dvorak it could be boring but I would have loved to see that piece played by these two immensely talented musicians, they would tear it up. If not Humoresque, then La Musica Notturna Delle Strade Di Madrid by Boccherini. Either piece would be fun way to close the show, they are my favorite pieces for cello and violin.

jose carlos rodriguez comesaña | July 26, 2017 | 11:09 (Wed)
Marco Tagliaferri | July 22, 2017 | 18:59 (Sat)

Andrey Popov | July 20, 2017 | 16:42 (Thu)

Except for the singer who did very well, especially with Mozart Requiem, musicians obviously struggled to cope with the technical complexity of the pieces they were trying to perform. Why attempt virtuostic pieces (e.g. Paganini variations) in performance if one obviously can't deliver? It would make more sense to stick with more playable repertoire. That would be much more enjoyable for everyone infolved... And someone should give a hint to the cellist that loud stomping of feet to mark the beat in combination with absent tone in the more challenging passages does not contribute to the performance. It's an easy thing to fix. Getting him to play in tune, and with healthy tone may be harder...

Silvia Elena Solari | May 28, 2017 | 21:42 (Sun)

The musicians were amazing and so was the choice of music they played. I regretted having to leave Prague on the following day as I'd have repeated the experience if I had been able to.